World Cup action test for Young Lady Chevrons

Fungai Muderere

THE first edition of the Women’s Under-19 T20 World Cup will start on Saturday with 16 teams competing

This historic event will see teams compete in 41 matches between Saturday 14 January and 29 January. Participating teams played two official warm-up matches in four venues around the Gauteng province, namely; St Stithians College, Steyn City School, Tuks Oval and Hammanskraal Oval.

The Kelis Ndlovu captained Zimbabwe fell to Indonesia by 15 runs on Monday before they engaged West Indies on Wednesday ahead of a global showcase that will have four venues hosting the main tournament in Benoni and Potchefstroom, South Africa.

Some high-profile names with international caps under their belt will feature in the tournament, including India captain Shafali Verma and wicketkeeper Richa Ghosh. There will be players who caught attention in the Hundred, such as Sophia Smale and Davina Perring, the franchise league’s youngest ever contracted player.

The 16 teams are divided into four groups of four, and play each other side in their group once. The top three in each group progress to the Super Six League stage, where qualifying teams from Group A will play against two of the qualifying teams from Group D, and qualifying teams from Group B will play against two of the qualifying teams from Group C. The top two sides from each of the Super Six Leagues will progress to the semi-finals, with the final taking place on 29 January.

On Sunday, Young Lady Chevrons will battle it out against England in tournament’s match number seven that will at JB Marks Oval, Potchefstroom starting at 10am.

Two days later, Zimbabwe will fight it out against Rwanda in contest’ game number 14 that will be played at North-West University Oval, Potchefstroom. The match will resume at 1:45pm.

In their last group tie, Zimbabwe will face Pakistan in the cricket extravaganza’s match number 24 also set to take place at North-West University Oval, Potchefstroom at 1:45pm

Hosts South Africa, along with Australia, Bangladesh, England, India, Ireland, New Zealand, Pakistan, Sri Lanka, West Indies and Zimbabwe qualified automatically for the tournament.

The United States also qualified automatically, as they were the only eligible team to compete from the Americas regional group. The four remaining places came from regional qualification groups.

The United Arab Emirates were the first team to qualify from the regional groups, after they won the Asia Qualifier. Indonesia won their three-match series against Papua New Guinea to win the East Asia-Pacific group to qualify. It was the first time that Indonesia had qualified for an ICC World Cup tournament at any level.

 Rwanda won the African Qualifiers to qualify for the World Cup. It was for the first time that Rwanda had qualified for an ICC World Cup tournament at any level.

 This is also the first ICC Women’s World Cup for Scotland, United Arab Emirates, United States, and Zimbabwe at any level.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *